Blowing My Own Trumpet

In all seriousness now is it me or do you fellow Vintage Queenies get more, how shall I put it…’attention’ from the opposite sex when you are dressed in all your bygone era get up’s?

Well I was always the one in the group that never got chatted up and if I did he was either A) Old enough to be my Dad or B) have the personality of a potato sack, that I suppose and the fact that I never actually wanted to be spoken to by strangers as I quite stereo typically assumed they were just drunk idiots chancing their luck on every girl in the bar. Since I began my descent into the wonderful world of Rockabilly I have noticed odd goings on…a look here and there on the train, a few up and downs of the outfit, a lot more attention then I’ve ever received before put it that way!

A few guys (mainly older) have actually come up to me and said how lovely I look without the slightest bit of sleeze or inclination to persue the communication any further than a compliment. One kind Gentleman actually said I had the most authentic vintage look he had ever seen. Dressing this way does seem to appeal to the older older man and as my partner say, ‘The old boys love you’, which makes me smile because I’d like to think they’re remembering what their sweetheart used to look like.

I don’t feel gawped at I feel admired and it’s a very lovely feeling to be dressed in such a way that makes you feel different without the shock factor. I still love the feeling that dressing this way has brought me, it’s empowering and ultimately a hell of a lot of fun!

IMG_3530

 

RR x

2 thoughts on “Blowing My Own Trumpet

Leave a Reply

